A Perfect Lou-Seussical Day

Today, two of my favourite artists share a birthday, and so, in honour of Theodore Geisel  (AKA Dr Seuss) and Lou Reed, I have rewritten the Lou Reed classic Perfect Day in the style of Dr Seuss.

.
A perfect day! Hooray! Hooray!

A walk in the park

With a lark and a Snark

Drinking Sangria until it gets dark.

.
A perfect day! I say! I say!

Feeding Kloopta-Za-Doodles

At the Swoop-Swoopy Zoo

Then take in a picture at Cinema Sioux

And then home.

.
It’s such a perfect day

I’m glad I spent it with you

Such a fantasti-ma-gurgical

Per-fec-tor-us day

You just keep me hanging on

Just keep me hang-tangling on.

.
Just a perfect day! Hooray, I say!

All my Snork-doogled problems

Are all left alone.

Weekenders, pretenders, and slick gender-benders

Make the best of it all on our own,

It’s such fun.

.
Just a perfect day! I say Hooray!

For just one perfect day

In sweet Coney-ka-relf

You made me forget my sad little self

You made me believe I could be someone else;

Even somebody good.

.
Oh it’s such a perfect day

I’m so glad I spent it with you

Such a perfec-ta-ma-boreous, glorious day!

You just keep me hanging on.

You just keep me hang-jangling,

All-stars a’spangling

Participally dangling,

Hang-bang-thang-dangling on.

Just a perfect day.

2 responses to “A Perfect Lou-Seussical Day

Leave a Reply

