The Weird Woman of Norfolk – A Friday Fictioneers Tale

It’s been a long time since I rock and rolled. I mean, I used to rock and roll every night and party every day… and then it was every other day… and then maybe once a week, and, well, you get the picture, darlings.

I’ve been meaning to dive back into Friday Fictioneers, hosted by the loveliest lady you’d ever want to know, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Your mission (should you choose to accept it, darlings) is to create a piece of fiction inspired by the weekly photo prompt, and to keep it to 100 words or less.

This week’s photo gave me a story immediately. You don’t want to know how quickly I wrote and then edited this, or it’ll piss you off.

This week’s picture is by Piya Singh. Thank you Piya!

photo-by-piya-singh-bittercharm-6

They called her a whore, sinner, the devil’s bride, and they chased the Weird Woman of Norfolk out of the village and into the woods. The older women called her the Kind Woman, for she often helped girls deal with unwanted bastards, when no man in town would.

Some townsfolk called her the Wise Woman, and sought her out when they needed medicines that actually worked.

I go to plead for wisdom, for advice on how to avenge myself against those who have done me wrong.

The townsfolk of Norfolk might call her a witch, but I call her Mother.

100 Words, eggs act tickly


If you want to join in, or read the others, click on the blue frog below.

Thank you for reading.

Helen Midgley’s A Little Box of Marbles is TOO sweet to miss.

23 responses to “The Weird Woman of Norfolk – A Friday Fictioneers Tale

  1. You’re BACK for real!
    Yay!
    Lovely story, and alas, all too true for women of ancient (and not too ancient) times who knew a thing or two about helping other women to heal or deliver their children.
    The ending is ambiguous. How literally or figuratively should I interpret it?
    I like that!

  2. Welcome back.
    Lovely story and probably not far from being a true tale. Especially in old Norfolk in the UK. (Isolated, lots of people with too many toes or fingers – or both.)

  3. Even after they drive her out they still go to her for advice. Pretty typical of ye olde townsfolk I bet – if they need to see her it’s on their terms, out of sight until then.

  4. Oh it’s such a pain when people get whipped up in other people’s judgements and opinions, even if they know perfectly well to the contrary. A very sweet story, cherie 🙂

  5. Great ti have you back at FF…
    I love the different perspective you gave of the wise woman/witch but to me the real killer is that last line that rolls the story into first perspective… This switch of view point made the whole story for me.

  6. This reminded me a lot of Penny Dreadful, dunno how much of it you watched (I gulped down all, day after day, much to husband’s grunting!) so don’t want to spoil anything, but the ending nailed it. I was not expecting to read that and am amazed how you manage to tell a tale with so little words. I think if I wanted to seriously elaborate something, even the dead Russians would turn in their grave from boredom.

  7. It’s nice to see you back. We have missed you.
    I love the tale of the outcast who has so many services to offer to those who sneak out there secretly for help and advice. Great writing.

Leave a Reply

