a poem on the underground train

So, I said a while ago that I don’t write poetry.

That’s not quite true.

Some people like poetry… Lizzi, Jess, Hasty, others…. here… here’a a bit of poetry for you. I’ll be sharing more as I continue this amalgam of my work.

     this is the way her world ends...

        eyes cast downward
      his turning away in pain
  and the crowd of people pushing them
     together
        is all that holds them close
  and the sway
               of the train
      moves their bodies together
       and in the proximity, she longs
        to kiss him -- that a sudden        lurch
      might mash their lips to
             gether --
      a kiss of consolation
         a kiss of absolution
     but he turns his head away
        and whispers something cruel
           in her ear

     and the tears are there
       though her eyes are dry

     this is the way her world ends:         
        with a silent whimper on a crowded train
6 responses to “a poem on the underground train

  1. I love this. May I print this up for my inspiration wall? I’m serious. It’s really gorgeous, and evokes so much feeling. And the imagery…I was there on the train, not as a watcher but as her. Wow. Just wonderful.

Leave a Reply

