It’s a New Brand Day

Hello all you readers, you long-time fans, you complete strangers. Hello friends, frenemies, casual acquaintances, people who are still trying to figure out whether they like me or not.

I’ve tried being aloof.

I’ve tried just writing and hoping you’d come and read. I built it. Some people came, but not enough to pay for the popcorn, if you know what I’m saying.

I’ve tried to be entertaining. I’ve tried to be friendly. I’ve been bluntly honest, sometimes to the point of cruelty.

I’ve been human, and I suppose that’s all I can be.

For the past two years, I’ve BEEN Helena. I mean, I’ve been writing as Helena, I’ve been living my online life as Helena. If I’d been living in my meatspace life the way I have in my online life, I’d be eligible for gender reassignment (no offense to anyone going through gender reassignment).

It’s been exhausting, and I am not in the mood to talk about all that right now, just to say that Helena is not me. Or rather, she’s not all that I am. The lines are blurry, sure, but she’s served her purpose and now it’s time for me to reclaim my life and let Helena become what she truly is — a character, a name.

It will be transitional, of course. I’m just spread so thin — multiple Facebook pages, multiple websites, I can’t keep up anymore. So I’m embracing it all and rolling it all together.

You’re going to see some changes, and I’m going to share a ton of stuff with you, bit by bit. It’s going to take a while, so don’t think you’re going to come back tomorrow and everything will be different.

I’ve been challenged to Be Real.

So, here we go.

29 responses to “It’s a New Brand Day

  1. I’m looking forward to this, cherie. It’s a brave move, and I genuinely hope that people connect with YOU, behind the fictions, and that they grow to love and cherish you for YOU, but also that they just damn well would LIKE YOUR WRITING 😉 *hugs*

  2. Totally get it. I’m doing somewhat the same. I review, onciously, but also write erotica titles under a pseudonym. You are right, it is exhausting trying to keep up, so I’ve combined the two as well. Best wishes for you just being yourself. That’s the best thing about you anyway. You just being you.

  3. I got the sense that you’ll have no problem rising to meet this challenge, and I hope that be(ing) real makes things easier for you. A few less things to juggle, right? It’s almost a certainty.

  4. I’ve liked your writing for a long time, but always felt a little disconnected from the real you – so this is great, you know! Looking forward to finally getting to know the real you.

    • Good morning, sir. Yes, it’s nice to be able to put them down and do other things without feeling guilty about neglecting them or fear losing your audience.

  5. Trying to go in order here. Not sure I’ve succeeded.

    I hope this rebranding delivers your dream. I struggle to keep up with several social media accounts as one person. I can’t imagine what this has been like for you.

    • I think it will just allow me to focus (and have fun again) and not feel like I have to be Helena all the time. I’ve got more to offer than just Helena.

Leave a Reply

