Bleak December

“Ah, distinctly I remember, it was in the bleak December, and each separate dying ember wrought its ghost upon the floor…”

December has indeed been bleak for me, darlings, but it’s nearly over. The longest night of the year has past.

It has been a year of new friendships; of opening the curtain to allow new players to join the company. Of lots and lots of writing.

Two novels and a novella finished, a book of short stories accepted for publication, and Volume Two of the Memoirs being prepared for publication.

A successful Kickstarter campaign, meeting Amanda Palmer, GETTING MARRIED, being Freshly Pressed – twice – and getting to blog hop all over the place with stories both sad and wonderful. Surviving another year — beating depression back time and time again. I’m still here.

I’m remembering these things in the bleakness of December because I ran out of steam. And while I felt really strange about that, it’s almost like December became my time of rest, which I so obviously and desperately needed, darlings. I may be tired now, and occasionally melancholy, but this isn’t the end. I’m not about to forget how to write, or lose my love of it. I’m just all tired out after a very long squawk. I’m pining for the Fjords.

(Beautiful plumage, that Norwegian Blue)

And so I wish you a very happy holiday — or just a restful rest of the year if you don’t celebrate anything — and thank you, from the bottom of whatever shriveled little thing passes for my heart — for a wonderful 2014.

Now I leave you with three words, that are a sort of victory cry for me, and are all the happy ending you’re going to get for now:

TO BE CONTINUED…

26 responses to “Bleak December

  1. Wonderful Helena, rest and rejuvenate your heart and soul. Enjoy your first holiday with your husband and do things that make you (both) happy. Celebrate the New Year like a boss! Congratulations on a year well spent on writing. Bring on 2015! Much love to you & Penny.

  2. You’ve had a great year, Helena, and you deserve to take as much time as you need off. December is a good month in which to hibernate, popping up only when needed to yell “Cheers!” and toss back a “sparkly drink” (courtesy of Jex ;). Hugs to you and Penny. To be continued …

      • you are too funny 😉 Yes, whenever you question whether you’ve done enough, just reread this post so you’re reminded of how much you have done. And if you include other things like how many books you’ve read and reviewed, then you can go, “geez, no wonder I’m tired” 🙂

  3. Aw! A lovely recounting of your year! Published, freshly pressed and married! Geez, you gotta lot going on! Good for you 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what next year will bring for you!

  4. Well, it’s a happy ending I LOVE, and which shows great promise of wonderful things to come.

    Thank you, Dilettante, for finding your way into my world and becoming such an important part of it. And for your writing (which you know I adore), and your friendship (which I cherish).

    I am glad and proud to have been alongside you for parts of this journey 🙂

  5. A great recap on a mad mad year. Congratulations on all your achievements so we’ll deserved, they take my breath away. Enjoy your rest, your husband (missed that announcement) and a lovely Christmas holiday. I’m sure you will come bouncing back in 2015.

    Take care of you

    Dee
    X

  6. My dear Helena, I hope you’re finding the restoration and peace you crave. I want to tell you that I am so infinitely glad that I have had the chance to get to know you this year. I find you inspiring and fascinating and generous. Cheers to a new year and a new beginning and to deepening friendships. Mwah!

Leave a Reply

