Keep Your ‘Lectric Eye On Me, Babe

I love David Bowie. Furthermore, I love Ziggy Stardust. I think it might just be the best damn glam rock album ever made. The team of David Bowie and Mick Ronson (who also, by the way, created Lou Reed’s seminal Transformer album) created something really special with the album The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars, and the music, while 40 years old, still amazes me.

“There’s a Starman waiting in the sky

He’s like to come and meet us, but he thinks he’d blow our mind.”

Our minds were definitely blown.

If you’ve seen the movie Guardians of the Galaxy, then you’ve probably been freaking out in a Moonage Daydream all summer. Penny has been bopping around the house, insisting that she’s an alligator… she’s a space invader… she’ll be a rock ‘n’ rollin’ biznitch for me. If you have been a constant reader (and I know you have, darlings) then you’ll know that this was already a thing in Casa de Hann-Basquiat (we liked Ziggy before it was cool… well, okay, after its original coolness, but before its resurgence…. lets face it…Ziggy’s always been cool for those in the know.)

So, today, I’m here to educate those who may have never heard this (shocking, but possible), and to remind those that already love it why they do.

I’ll encourage you with the words of Ziggy himself, printed on the back of the album cover, and tell you that this album is TO BE PLAYED AT MAXIMUM VOLUME.

Enjoy.

16 responses to “Keep Your ‘Lectric Eye On Me, Babe

  1. Aaahhhh! I went to listen, and it’s just static! It says I have to go to YouTube.
    Luckily, I can just go listen to it on Spotify. I don’t have a decent turntable or I’d play the vinyl.
    You’re my sistah from another mistah!

    • Yeah, YouTube and WordPress are weird sometimes. I’m able to open it and listen no problem. I think sometimes it’s a region thing. Who knows.
      I’ve been looking for a copy of the 40th Anniversary remaster on vinyl (it’s supposed to be amazing) for some time, but it’s very $$$. And originals, good luck. You ever want to part with your vinyl, you just let me know! (ha ha)

      • YOU WILL NEVAH GET MY VINYL! NEVAH!!

        I actually have about 1000 albums, but they’re in shitty condition, most of them. They’ve been jammed in boxes is a pretty damp basement for 10 years. When I move, I actually will have to get rid of them. They’re incredibly heavy. How could I ship them to Canada??

      • There’s not a bad track on the album, but yes, Rock n’ Roll Suicide is a great one. When I was playing in a band, we had a song called Time on My Mind, and when we played it live, during the end we’d throw in snippets of Time by Pink Floyd, and those first few lines from Rock’N Roll Suicide…

  2. I don’t see how people don’t “know” this. Even if you aren’t into this music genre (as if) it’s just an iconic period for an innovative artist.

    Or maybe I have made sure to surround myself with people who know real music and I am truly clueless to most of the world.

Leave a Reply

