Dream 45s, or, I Should Have Been A DJ

Hello darlings… after a long three day weekend, I came in to work today and was bombarded by a pile of work so tall it threatens to fall on me, crushing your favourite dilettante, and me without my “Help, I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up” thingamabobber.

And so I cannot offer you anything witty or profound, merely something that I think you might find a fun diversion, both to comment on here, and a game to play with your musically inclined friends, or just fellow audiophiles.

The Countess and I played it in the car this weekend, and we found it a lot of fun.

Basically, it’s about creating tiny little playlists. Back in the dark ages before mp3s, CDs, and the dreaded cassette, bands would release singles on something called a 45 (so called because it had to spin faster than an LP, at 45 revolutions per minute vs 33-1/3rpm)

But anyway, that’s just a tiny little history lesson. The important part is, the actual single would go on the A side, and then on the B-side, the band would usually put a song that wasn’t going on the album.

Penny and I came up with the idea of creating dream A-side/B-side combinations, with all the rules out the window when it came to matching the artist.

So I’d pick a song, any song, and then Penny would pick a song — by anyone, from any era — that complimented it well as a B-side.

If you like this game, I may just have to do some more at some point. In the meantime here’s a few combinations Penny & I came up with.

Placebo – Running Up That Hill b/w NIN – March of the Pigs

Black Keys – Gold on the Ceiling b/w T-Rex – 20th Century Boy

Sleigh Bells – Riot Rhythm b/w Smashing Pumpkins – Cherub Rock

Black Keys – Howlin’ For You b/w Jack White – I’m Shakin’

25 responses to “Dream 45s, or, I Should Have Been A DJ

  1. You hit the spot with the songs, and hurray for Black keys, next time play Psychotic girl; I always have a feeling my husband plays that for me πŸ˜€

  2. Oooh this is an excellent diversion! πŸ™‚ nice way to break up my work day, too! πŸ™‚ Although it’s a pity I’m not better acquainted with these artists. I know – it’s a tragedy.

  3. I like this game! I may have to play at some point, but it’s almost my bed time here in Germany, so another day. πŸ™‚ But I do love the idea.

  4. Cherub Rock – best thing the Pumpkins did, by far. And that Placebo cover is fantastic – forgot about that one. I love this game and the possibilities….I know that tomorrow morning at the grocery store, pulling tomato sauce and Bread and Butter pickles off the shelf, knee deep in my mp3 player, I will be doing this thing…

    Very groovy. Need to fetch my old 45 spindle thingy for authenticity now.

      • I am dreadfully embarrassed to say that I didn’t know that, even though I had amassed quite a collection of the round vinyl things (albums or LP’s, right? Oh dear) back in the day. I am still looking to buy a new record player. I do miss the sound of those scratched up music makers. I learned something today – thanks πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Living Musically – Yesterdays Edition | The D/A Dialogues·

  6. I have very fond memories of playing my 45s over and over and over … but I am SO unfamiliar with the majority of artists you’ve listed here. I feel so old πŸ˜‰

    • In all fairness, this was both Penny and I playing — some of the newer artists were her, and then I would pick a B-Side.

      Feel free to play — you pick an A side, and I’ll try to match it. (My musical knowledge is EXTENSIVE, darling)

      • Oh, yes, I’ve seen that you know A LOT about music. Very impressive, while I just play the same tired tunes over and over and over πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

