Thank You Marie!

Thank you, Marie Ann Bailey!

Marie unhesitatingly agreed to help promote Memoirs of a Dilettante Volume One yesterday, making herself available to help any way she could, and I’m truly grateful.

Marie is another person who found me and showered me with encouragement, which I completely took for granted until one day I thought that I should probably reach out to this anonymous person and say thank you.

I’m ever so glad I did, because I discovered a lovely, funny, warm and generous person who gives so much of her time to the writing that she loves — which these days is mostly the writing of others, for whom she shares her appreciation by writing reviews, giving feedback, and reading. Most of all, reading. You should all be so lucky to have a Marie Ann Bailey on your list of people who read your stuff.

When she finds the time (between knitting and being a magnet for stray cats), Marie does write some excellent fiction. I, for one was terribly moved by her story Unraveling, which was published in issue 7 of the Paperback Collective

You also simply MUST go read The Knitter and the Mashed Potatoes — an incredible modern fable.

She also co-authors all those hilarious TEN THINGS… lists with John W. Howell, the most recent of which can be found HERE

Marie has quickly become one of my favourite people here on WordPress (and not only because she spends a lot of time praising my writing) because she is a shining example of the meaning of community. She’s a tireless promoter, cheerleader and someone I’d love to count as a friend. She’s given her time to me as proof-reader and editor, specifically for Three Cigarettes, (available on Amazon… just sayin’), which she should take at least a bit of pride in knowing that she helped produce it.

What more can I say? That I look forward to seeing her smiling face on the avatar beside her comments. I do. I really do.

Lastly, I’m going to leave you with one of my favourite Bob Dylan songs, as performed by my second favourite late Beatle.

Absolutely Sweet Marie

7 responses to “Thank You Marie!

  1. I think I have something in my eye … actually, both my eyes because they are quite watery right now. Thank you so much, Helena. Love you and your work 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    I don’t (often) promote myself, but this post by Helena, my favorite dilettante, this glorious tribute to moi, is something I just have to share. It isn’t just her words. Writing is hard enough work, but putting together a biographical post, with links to some of the subject’s writings, is much harder. I know because I’ve done it. To have someone write such a post about me bring tears to my eyes, makes my heart ache a little, and inspires me to print the post when I get home and FRAME IT! Thank you, dear Helena. From one of your darlings 😉

  3. Pingback: Writer’s Rebel Creed Revisited: February Edition | 1WriteWay·

Leave a Reply

