The Dilettante Picks up a New Skill

I have gained an entirely new appreciation for people who work in desktop and e-book publishing, my darling readers…

I’ve just begun formatting Memoirs of a Dilettante Volume One for epub, and it is a frustrating process that requires the learning of an entirely new way of thinking and an awful lot of trial and error.

I have finally got a handle on it, though, so I’m happy to report that over the next month or so, I will have my nose buried in my laptop completely re-formatting (oh, SO many hours, darlings!) so that I will be able to offer it as an e-book.

I still say paper is better, darlings, but then, diversification is always a smart idea!

18 responses to “The Dilettante Picks up a New Skill

  1. I look forward to being able to read it when you have finished. I am impressed, I’ve thought about e-publishing – that’s as far as I’ve got. Very impressed with your grasp of the formatting, publishing world.
    Dee

  2. Well done! I’ve sometimes thought about epublishing but not about formatting and whatnot. It sounds like once you’ve finished the book there’s a lot more work to be done.
    Which reminds me, GreenEmbers recently promoted a book on that very subject on one of his posts, if you’re interested. Seemed to get decent enough reviews on amazon.

    • GreenEmbers? Refresh my memory, darling…
      Yes, I’ve spent hours and hours formatting and then editing and re-editing, and then passing off to my editor to edit, and then re-editing, and then, whilst formatting, catching things we somehow both missed, and then re-editing, and then declaring it finished and giving it a “last” once over and finding one or two things that somehow still got missed — it’s a lot of work!

      • greenembers.wordpress.com, he’s actually just done a round-up on his home page, it’s the one by Chris McMullen. I don’t know if it is any good though, but thought it might be worth a look 🙂
        Sounds like you have an editor though so you’re not having to “go it alone” which is good.
        Good luck!

  3. So you will have a print copy too? I’m finding that while I do enjoy ebooks and purchase a fair number of them, I still prefer print books for serious reading. I’m the kind of reader that will flip back and forth and that’s not a lot of fun to do with ebooks 🙂 Good luck with the rest of your formatting!

Leave a Reply

